5 Stoic Quotes That Will Transform Your Thinking

Do It For Yourself

Mastery: Do It For Yourself

Issue No. 35 | August 28th, 2023 | Read Time: 3 Minutes

Happy Monday Everyone!

When I was a kid, I was always looking for the approval of others.

Whether it was telling a joke and making sure people laughed.

Or doing whatever was "trendy" at the time around my friends.

And I'd be lying if I said I still didn't do this. 

But over time I've grown out of that habit because I've realized the only person living your life is

you

.

It can still be hard at times to not hop on the bandwagon, but as long as you don't live your life by other people's standards, you'll live with no regrets.

Your friends don't know what's in your bank account.

Your parents don't know about the business you've been aspiring to build.

Your siblings don't know your political views.

And if they do? Great.

As long as they support it.

Because if they don't, you'll hear a lot of,

"Why don't you try this instead?"

or

"College is the safest route."

And when you hear those remarks from the people you love, you'll begin to believe it. 

As humans, we can be easily swayed to follow what's popular.

Because deep down we just want to be accepted.

But here's the kicker,

You can't make everyone happy.

And if you have to choose one person to make happy, it should be yourself. 

Going back to the beginning of my newsletter, obviously I need to work on this. 

And I have recently because of a good friend of mine who actually inspired today's newsletter.

Just remember to do it for you.

Don't become a nurse because your parents said so.

Do it because you want to.

And if you don't?

Find out what it is you want to do.

And the best way to figure that out is by asking yourself,

"What is it that I do that gives me energy?"

Because if you can capitalize on something that

gives

you energy, you'll be a millionaire.

I want to finish this off with a quote:

"Climb mountains not so the world can see you, but so you can see the world." - David McCullough Jr.

Don't work your whole life trying to live for someone else.

Because you'll only forget to live your own.

Until next time,

Isaiah Taylor

Dive Deeper

What I'm Currently Reading -

I'm now reading

$100 Offers

by Alex Hormozi, a book on how to level up your offer creation and formulate a marketing strategy that is guaranteed to make you win.

  • If you'd like to see my notes pertaining to any other book I have previously read, then check out my websiteisaiahctaylor.comto view my entire library of notes and summaries.

Quote Of The Week

  • "Anyone who dreams of an uncommon life eventually discovers there is no choice but to seek an uncommon approach to living it." — Gary Keller